Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is travelling by bike not popular in many places? Suggest how to increase the popularity of this form of transport.

It is true that cycling does not pollute the environment like other types of transport do, but this method is not popular in many places. This essay will examine the reason for the unpopularity of cycling and give some solutions to reverse this trend. The poor cycling infrastructure may account for why citizens do not choose to ride a bike in many places. Not all governments have the budget to build special bike lanes where motorbikes and other types of vehicles are excluded, and in many cities, cyclists have to share the lanes with pedestrians and motorcycles. However, this significantly increases the risk of cyclists, since they may be the most vulnerable road users compared to car drivers and motorcyclists. As a result, cycling may not be popular in cities where there is no high quality cycling framework. The second reason why travelling by bike does not gain its momentum is that other available ways of transport may help people save more time. Currently, many people live far away from city centres to reduce the housing cost, but this inevitably increases the commuting time. By driving a car or taking a metro, people can commute to work more quickly and thereby have more time to either concentrate on work or relax. Therefore, the tendency of urban decentralization leads to longer commuting time, making cycling an ineffective way of transport. To reverse this trend, governments need to improve cycling infrastructure to guarantee the safety of cyclists. This requires governments to not only build more cycling lanes but also provide more bike racks for parking, specialized traffic signs for cyclists, and so on. When citizens realize that the danger related to cycling disappears, they will embrace cycling again. As for the speed problem of bikes, introducing electric bikes may be a good option. Compared to traditional bikes, electric bikes may run at a faster speed with electric assistance. If citizens can reach the places they want more quickly by riding electric bikes, they are probably willing to try electric bikes. To conclude, lacking cycling infrastructure and the low-speed issue of traditional bikes jointly contribute to the unpopularity of cycling in many places. Governments can improve cycling infrastructure to attract cyclists, and promoting electric bikes may help to tackle the speed problem of traditional bikes to some degree.