Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to different reasons, it is often claimed that although modern-world technologies are trying to make people's lives easier, the outcome has brought adverse effects that are causing mental complications such as stress and anxiety. I think this is true and believe a major change is needed in order to preserve the upcoming generation's lives. This essay will discuss this argument before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, the breakthrough of social media and the constant upgradings to the internet provides adolescents with a large amount of information 24/7. Hence having the opportunity to while away superfluous hours on the news and the media places the youngster in a tense environment because the information posted is often negative and controversial in order to get more public connected. For example, recent research conducted has shown that Facebook is the most used social network in the west by people between 14 and 19, as it is used at least in total 5 hours per day in different intervals of time. That is to say that adolescents use almost a third of their days consuming all kind of information posted. Therefore, as a young mind is always malleable and the overproduction of data is increasing, this inherently leads to mental disorders. However, I take the view that limits have to be imposed to avoid being affected by all the society's problems we are facing today. Secondly, the educational system has become considerably more accessible and subsequently, find a job is a more competitive matter as graduates need to be constantly upgrading their degrees and learning new concepts at a very rapid pace. Thus, although nowadays students are equipped with modern instruments that facilitate their education process, the real and contemporary world is by far more demanding than before so that graduates need to develop distinctive skills to be able to get a remarkable position in a company. For instance, aspiring to have a core position at any important company nowadays, it has become impossible if graduates do not master skills such as Microsoft Office apps or a second language. These demands can not be handled by all teenagers and when thinking about their future and these factors might raise levels of anxiety and stress. In conclusion, although a great number of factors is making youngster's lives tougher than previous lifestyles such as the overconsumption of information and a more demanding workforce, I believe limits can be imposed on the former and psychology help can be provided in the latter in order to prepare juveniles for a whole new world.