some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others however think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. discuss both views and give your opinion.

some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others however think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. discuss both views and give your opinion. Nowadays, due to the progression of modernisation in the world, the ways of teaching have evolved greatly. While some believe that more practical based courses are better to study, others oppose this by arguing that theoretical subjects are more beneficial. I firmly believe that courses that focus on both practical and theory are equally important. This essay will support my view while discussing both views. Admittedly, undertaking a heavily practical based subject is associated with various advantages such as skill acquisition in both academic and social aspects. These include but not limited to time management, communication, efficacy and planning. Since these subjects require an individual to actively engage in many experiments and practicals, it also provides them with an opportunity to develop their problem solving and critical thinking activities. Moreover, numerous research has reflected that students tend to comprehend the course material better when concepts are taught in a more practical manner. In addition, children enjoy actively participating in such activities over sitting down and learning in a classroom format. In contrast, theoretically based subjects involve a more cognitive aspect rather than a physical one. However, it also bears many benefits. By teaching the fundamentals in a subject area, students are more likely to understand why things work the way they do. For example, teaching students the concept behind electricity and why it can be dangerous is more effective than simply telling them to stay away from electrical appliances. These subjects have a mathematical component to them, allowing the children to further polish their critical thinking, problem-solving and arithmetic skills. Therefore, I believe that both these subject areas are equally beneficial. When combined, they can be applied in real-life situations. Since it develops problem-solving skills, it also promotes creative thinking. This can encourage young people to explore new ideas and test new theories with the use of both factual and logical knowledge they have acquired from learning these subjects. To conclude, there are plenty of pros of practical and theory-based subjects. I believe that they are equally important and when combined they can be used to make learning much more effective.