Private car ownership has grown dramatically in recent years. This has led to a rise in traffic congestion. What could governments and individuals do to reduce congestion?

Nowadays, since technology is developing rapidly, more and more people want to get their own cars. The concern about reducing congestion lays in the responsibility of both individuals and governments. Therefore, measures that must be taken to avoid traffic jam these days will be discussed in the essay. To begin with, the main reason for increasing car consumption leading to traffic congestion and other problems is people's ignorance and unawareness. It should be noted that governments should insist on putting the limit on the number of vehicles in a day and inform individuals about a given issue. For instance, the Japanese government has declared the law where automobiles with even number cannot go out in one day and consequently on another day with odd. If other countries give their main priority to this law, it will contribute to the problem being solved faster. In addition, it is clear that individuals should take a part in decreasing traffic congestion too. By encouraging environmentally-friendly forms of transport not only the number of cars will be shortened but also people will help to avoid different ecological problems such as air pollution. Only when they learn more about an alike problem and act respectively to figure out do they realize the importance and consequences of that phenomenon. In conclusion, even if people afford themselves to become a vehicle owner, it can lead to traffic jam and thereby turning into a huge problem for the entire world. Thus, all measures should be taken until we face it.