Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that reading books is more beneficial for children compared to watching TV or playing computer games. Personally, I completely agree with this opinion and will analyze my point of view in the essay below. To begin with, children can better improve their imagination through reading books in comparison with watching TV or playing games. By reading stories, children have to use their imagination to create a vision and visualize all events described by words in the book. While reading, they will create images, thoughts and opinions in their mind, thus enhancing their imagination and creativity. Meanwhile, this can hardly be the case for watching TV, as TV already provides them with the full image and vibrant colours. Consequently, it is reasonable to say that reading books help children produce more imaginative responses compared to watching TV. In addition, reading stories from a book also develops children ’s verbal abilities compared to watching TV or playing computer games. Children will be exposed to a wide range of vocabularies as well as sentence structures when reading. Therefore, reading books can provide great opportunities for children to advance their vocabulary level, which can lead to their better writing skills. Meanwhile, when it comes to TV shows or computer games, sounds and images are two key elements rather than texts. That is to say, books are far better than TV or games at increasing children ’s vocabulary. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of reading books far outweigh those of watching TV or playing games for children since this activity does good to both their imagination and language ability.