Learning abaut the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the opinion that our past doesn't have any relevance to our present being. I completely disagree with this statement as our current situation is somewhat dependent on our past. This essay will put forth arguments in support of this idea. Firstly, our past has a direct impact on our identity. Moreover, it defines who we are today. In order to know your self, one needs to know about the family history, the tapestry of descendance. For example, many people nowadays pay money to know more about their family history through ancestry.com to get an idea of their family tree. This helps in creating a sense of being in individuals and boosts confidence. Secondly, if we know about our ancestral tree it helps to provide details about any hereditary diseases that runs in family. Consequently, people will be more prepared mentally if they inherit those diseases. For instance, if there is a pattern of diabetes or heart diseases seen in family members of a person it is more likely to be passed on to the next generation. Overall, knowing about our past is extremely beneficial to us. So in a nutshell, in my opinion, our past has a major impact on our present. Knowledge of the familial tree can help to create a sense of identity in a person as well as prepare us for any ancestral diseases that are passed on to us.