Some people think that the internet has brought some closer together, while others believe that people and communities are becoming more isolated

It is often held that the internet has a crucial role in bringing individuals together. While some public argues that communities are further away after the spread of the internet, others discuss that the development of the internet is important in people ’s relationship. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, there are people who claim that the drawbacks of the spread of the internet considerably outweigh its advantages. The main reason for believing this is that not all people and communities have access to the internet. For instance, we should remember that only half of the world’s population has internet access. Moreover, the more time you spend online, the less you interact with the people in your immediate surroundings, like neighbours and office colleagues. Finally, the high growth of the spread of false information in social media can cause conflicts. On the other hand, others believe that the internet brings people together. This is because the nation can make affordable or free voice and video calls to friends, relatives, and colleagues all over the world. Also, social networking platforms enable individuals to join a global community of people who share similar interests and it is relatively simple to find long-lost friends. Moreover, with mobile devices, it is possible to share with friends what you are doing and where you are at this very moment. From my point of view, the internet has had an essential role in keep friends and families close because it is possible to keep in touch with them at any time. To conclude, although the inequality in internet access leads to less intense relationships between individuals, I believe that there are positive factors that the internet brings because we can connect with people easily.