Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Personal particulars such as leisure activities, interest and civil status are sometimes being asked by employers in a job interview. It is often argued that this information is unnecessary and holds no value. Whereas for others, such details can be beneficial for the employer. To begin with, the idea to disclose private information to an organization is valuable in the process of deciding whether an applicant fit perfectly into the work culture. For instance, a vacant position that requires travelling to diverse metropolis even during weekend may not be possible to fill in by a woman who has a less than 1 year old baby and who is still on breastfeeding. Moreover, the applicant’s hobbies and interest could give the employer an idea of their personality as well as their ability and flexibility of doing a particular work. On the other hand, divulging personal data could create bias which is not healthy in an organization. A person who is single and has no children could receive a work that is much more demanding than other workers who have children. Furthermore, although knowing once interest could give the employers a hint of their personality, this could also be misused by some employers. For example, an employee who is night going can be invited by an employer to dine on a restaurant or go on a bar. This kind of invitation is often break professional boundary and sometimes lead to some sort of sexual harassment in the long run. In conclusion, it has no doubt that knowing an applicant private data has merits and demerits. Nonetheless, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.