In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a controversy about who should pay for nursing home: some people say the government should look after the senior citizens, others claim the family of the elderly people are responsible to spend money on them. In the following essay, I would state that the family members should defray a cost of the retirement homes because the government exists for the future of the nation, and individuals who are in the home for the aged is often by an intention of the family. First of all, even though the senior citizens are included in the part of society, the contribution to the community might be less than young people; therefore, the priority to support the aged is low. As there are a lot of significant problems such as inequality, diplomacy, and environmental issues, the government is not affordable to spend budget to the individuals whose possibility to contribute to society. Second of all, the nation is not responsible to help the elderly persons. Many of the aged who go to the nursing home is often because of the hope from kins: as they want to spend more time with their family who is old, they let the nurses to look after the old individuals. Consequently, the kins have responsible, and the government do not have to help to their hope will be fulfilled. In my conclusion, the households should defray a cost of the retirement homes because the nation has to solve other issues in society, and they are more responsible to do so.