Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Less youths are ready to take care of their parents than before. While a group support it to spend more time concentrating on their jobs, others including me, disapprove and fear the emotional pain on the whole family. I believe this trend has more drawbacks than benefits. On one hand, not looking after parents has minor advantages. Some youths choose not to be caregivers for their parents because they find this responsibility as an overwhelming obligation they can not endure. Thus, a significant number of youths prefer to hire professional help to take care of their parents or put them in senior houses. Consequently, they have time to focus on their career, while the parents are getting a professional level of help. To illustrate, new nursing houses are opening recently offering multiple facilities to entertain the senior guests all day long. This type of houses is becoming so popular because of its positive effects they have on the morality of guests. On the Other hand, there are serious disadvantages of not taking care of parents. Firstly, the parents feel abandoned by their children, which in return makes them depressed. A second disadvantage is that children lose their connections with their family; hence, they live a life with no emotional support. As a result, both parents and children suffer emotionally. Furthermore, the second generation deprives themselves from the rich experience the older generation transmits to them. A clear example is some family businesses that close their doors after the death of their founders, and that is because the heirs did not carry the knowledge and wisdom of their parents. To conclude, in my opinion, the disadvantages of not looking after the parents outweigh the advantages. That is because saving time for career improvement should not be used as an argument to neglect the parents. Moreover, both parties are negatively affected by the trend.