Some people believe advertisements have positive effect on people and business while others do not. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Advertisements have proved to be one of the best methods to grab the attention of a target audience. It effectively influences the human mind and has become a way to propagate products or just call people to some action. While it is commonly believed this is a positive trend, I think advertisements may propagate unhealthy lifestyle and serve as a reason for monopoly in a market. The reason why the usage of advertisements may seem like an appealing option is that they help businesses to boost their sales. The majority of goods shown on TV have a huge potential of gaining the popularity of a consumer community. Hence, companies increasingly employ this opportunity to encourage people to purchase their products. On contrary to this, advertisements tend to lead society into unhealthy life. Drinks and food showed on TV often contain harmful ingredients for health, however, people are easily fooled by their eye-catching presentation. As a result, they poison their health, spending money at the same time. Moreover, advertisements frequently result in a monopoly in a particular industry. For example, shampoo company may overpopulate TV with their advertisements, grabbing the majority of a target audience of an industry. As a consequence, consumers will unconsciously become loyal to a particular brand and businesses which cannot afford advertisements may fall out. To conclude, although I believe that advertisements might prove to be an effective tool in hands of businesses, I also consider that they can harm sales of other companies and may encourage people to move to an unhealthy life.