Some people think that high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantageous and disadvantageous of both the approach.

Recently there has been a trend of taking a break between graduation and work to explore the outer world. While few people assert that travelling or working will be beneficial for secondary graduate students before joining university course, others believe that it can be disadvantageous to them. In this, essay I shall discuss both positives and negatives of this trend by supporting personal examples. To begin with, travelling or working offers some experiences which can be advantageous to young graduates for their future studies. In the first place, when undergraduate work at an early age, they become more aware of the practical aspect of the workplace, as a result of which they become more confident to perform challenging jobs in the future. For example, when I completed my internship in a leading corporate company after high school, I was more confident to take up a demanding job role after my graduation. Secondly, travelling to new places makes young adult more aware of the culture and traditions of different places in the world, which makes them knowledgeable as an individual. Therefore it can be said that such experiences are beneficial before joining the educational institution. However, there are few drawbacks of this trend which cause issues to students if they do not join educational institution without break. This is because if high school scholar takes a gap for a reasonable period, then they may lose interest in studies, due to which it becomes difficult to go back to studies again. For instance, my sister found it difficult to score good marks in the university exam as she could not concentrate because she took a break after high school. Moreover, academic record will show a gap in the resume of the student, which can be debatable during interview time. Students may get rejected due to the gap in their resumes. Hence, it may not be advisable to take a gap before joining university. In conclusion, although some people may favour the notion to travel or work before joining university to get practical exposure and knowledge of the world, it may also create a problem for students in the future for the subsequent job and academic record. If students want to become knowledgeable individual, then they can join part-time courses along with university studies or travel I their free time to explore new destinations.