Some people say that in this modern era, it is unnecessary to teach children about skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, technological advancements motivate the masses to shift towards computers. Owing to this, a proportion of people asserts that fostering youngsters to learn calligraphic skills is not mandatory. However, I partially agree with this statement as good handwriting assists the adults to learn things effectively whereas, it is redundant in this competitive society where computer knowledge is promoted. This essay will discuss both the arguments to substantiate my viewpoint in subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, there are specific disadvantages of spending time in honing the capabilities of writing. Firstly, with the advent of technology, nowadays, every school is adopting smart classes where knowledge is provided and classwork has to be completed through computers. This further reduces the requirement of attaining skills of handwriting. To epitomize, according to a survey by a leading newspaper, it has been estimated that written materials would be diminished by the year 2050 due to the rising trend of laptops in the community. Secondly, in this competitive world, presently, every job demands workers who have excellent command in electronics despite the people who have efficient handwriting abilities because every organisation is now managing their transactions through technological gadgets. Hence, these reasons lead to decreasing the trend of calligraphy in the country. On the paradoxical side, I personally believe that individuals should give proper attention in learning proficient handwriting ability. The first and foremost reason is that commendable handwriting helps the youngsters to explain and learn the ideas in a better way as learning through handwritten materials is much more effective instead of gaining information from printed materials. Additionally, if the masses who are expertise in calligraphy, then they can pursue their profession in that field too. To cite an example, approximately 35% of college students are doing a part-time business of completing assignments of other students due to their superior handwriting. To recapitulate, although, currently, the trend of pursuing work through electronic devices has been rising tremendously because of the demand of people, whereas, I opine that good handwriting provides better understanding of concepts and it also encourages the adults to take it as a profession.