Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community do you agree or disagree?

There is a certain group of persons who reckons that rather than deploying culprits into the prison, a few of them should be given an opportunity to do volunteering work for aiding society. I am in accord with the second statement where offenders would be allowed to doing social work for the community. I will illustrate my perspectives with suitable examples in the following paragraphs. To begin with, although delinquents are useless for society because of their deeds which have an adverse effect on society, some cases the situation becomes worst, hence people can not resist them from doing crime. Sometimes, these people can be changed by guiding them to do some social actions towards the society as doing volunteer work. For illustrate, in our city, Ahmedabad, A group of lawbreakers come forward and do cleaning works at public places over the weekends. Moreover, This type of development can be diminished the delinquincy of the criminal and some cases they can not do crimes again. As a result, by taking such actions not only change the nature of criminal but also helps to the society in a broader way. Furthermore, putting offenders like pocket pickers, theifs, etc. into the prison can not beneficial for the society as well as government, thus such culprits do not understand the impact of the crime which they done earlier. But, government take appropriate actions against them such as instead of putting them into the prison, allowing them to do some educational work which can be helped to the society. For example, Kiran Bedi, a first lady IPS(Indian Police Services) officer who guided more than 100 of criminals and after that they become social activists to support the government school's students in their educations. As a consequence, the number of criminal cases reduced in the Tihar district and the literacy rate of young children increase drastically due to such volunteer's work which as done by the law breakers. To conclude, Every criminals are not bad for the society, hence putting all of them into the prison which can not be an excellent idea for anyone. However, some cases criminal should be given a chance to work for volunteering to the society which may be a fruitful action towards reducing the crime in the society.