In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely known that malnutrition and its impacts have severely impacted our society, and, perhaps, one of the most serious health problems countries have to face today is obesity. In this regard, a part of our society believes that the state must increase the tax on fast food. I totally disagree with that because, from my point of view, there are other aspects that should be taken into account when imposing such a drastic measure. Firstly, a good reason to disagree with the rise in processed food taxes is that people who work full time cannot cook every day. Due to the busy routine at work, people have not been able to prepare their meals. As a result, it is more convenient to eat fast food near work. An example of this is the growth of food machines in subway stations, to meet the demand of people who are always on the run. Secondly, another point to consider against rising fast- food rates is that the fast- foodfood industry has developed very healthy alternatives in recent years. This will result in increasing the consumption of more nutritious food. In other words, if consumers have more food options, they will tend to try another kind of food, including healthy ones. Moreover, individuals have been increasingly concerned with staying healthy. Finally, raise unhealthy food taxes is not the most effective policy. It is undeniable that advertisements have a great influence on individuals, therefore, informing, by using television, the internet, billboards, is a better way to educate people than prohibiting them. In addition, the government should build more sports facilities for the population. To conclude, when it comes to health problems due to poor diet, it is necessary to analyze social aspects and alternatives measures before applying a rigorous measure by increasing the cost of the food.