You should spend about 40 minutes on this task : It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that media has become an indispensable part of our society, and it is an arduous process to come out of its effect. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of living in a society full of media. Living in a media -rich community is advantageous in various ways. One major benefit is providing up-to-date information. Being the fastest mode of information, media confers us with the latest news and details of a particular place and makes people aware of the incidents happening in the world. In addition, people from different nations have come to know about each other because of the media. The public now has access to various social networking sites such as Facebook, Instagram and Tiktok, which means they can connect with people from different regions and community as well as have a good grasp of other cultures and traditions. This results in forging a strong bond between them. However, the media sometimes does not provide adequate information. That is to say, many news reporters reveal one part of an argument from the society and conceal the other in order to provoke the masses. The consequence of this is public may be deprived of reality. Moreover, youngster's health may be affected drastically due to media. It is often observed that they spend most of their time in front of the screens using media's applications. This means they are not getting involved in physical activities such as sports and exercise. Such a sedentary lifestyle is an impactful contributing factor to the current generation prone to numerous ailments like obesity and high blood sugar. In conclusion, although living in a media -controlled society can be beneficial in terms of keeping abreast of the latest updates and societal solidarity, its drawbacks including not providing sufficient information and the addictive effects on the young should not be ignored.