Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are different arguments related to the importance of various subjects taught in the schools. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that History is a more valuable subject, while some critics oppose the idea as they believe Science and Technology carry more weight. However, in my perspective, I truly feel, although vocational subjects have an edge over others, they altogether lay the basic foundation of children’s lives and are equally responsible to shape their future. On the one hand, others consider that History is more enriched due to two main reasons. Firstly, it provides deep insight into the past but also helps us to outline a plan for the future. To elaborate, it tells us about events in the past, it teaches us in the best possible way methods of how to avoid similar mistakes in the coming days. Secondly, it tells us of our glorious culture, which we should be aware of completely. For example, Indians should know about India’s Independence struggle, only then we shall truly understand its value and learn to nurture it. On the other hand, others and I are of the opinion that science and Technology are a shade better for three major factors. To begin, not only do they help students to get further education, but also secure jobs. For example, my cousin who was inclined towards science, went on to become an engineer. In addition, these subjects broaden the horizons of the pupils and allow migration from one stream to the other. To be precise, considering the vast field of science, an individual trained in civil engineering can go on to own a construction business. Lastly, these subjects have a lot of practical aspects, that kids enjoy. To conclude, I strongly believe that vocational subjects help in brightening up the future of a child, but the basic subjects are equally needed for proper upbringing of the same student. It is recommended to focus on all topics irrespective of their face value.