Diet, not exercise, is the most important element in maintaining one’s health. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use details and reasons to support your point of view.

Maintaining health is probably one of the most important things in our life. Obviously, nobody wants to be sick or in a bad health condition. Many believe that diet without exercise is enough to stay healthy and fit. However, I completely disagree with this view. First of all, diet really plays an important role in maintaining our body condition. However, we cannot skip exercise just because we already incorporate a clean diet into our life style. Exercise have so many additional benefit for our body that cannot we get from healthy diet. For example, exercise gives us a better heart capacity, helps build muscle, and stay youthful. Moreover, a study also showed that exercise regularly can potentially give us longer life span and prevent some heart diseases. Secondly, the term “ health ” does not only refer to our bodily state, but can also refer to mental state. Exercise do not just give us physical benefit, but it can also help us cope with mental problems. Indeed, in today’s world, most jobs require us to be on our seat for 8-9 hours in the office. Consequently, issues related to mental health, such as stress, have been increasing this past decade. Exercise can help us deal with these problems because when we exercising, our body releases blasts of endorphins that give us a sense of happiness and joy. What is more, exercising can also give variety to our mundane life. For example, whenever I have had a hectic week, I always exercise at the weekend because exercising can help me relax and I always feel energized after a good workout session. To sum up, I believe that diet alone is not the most vital component in maintaining health. A good diet should be accompanied by exercise as exercising have many additional benefits for our bodies, and because exercise can give us better mental health.