Effects of size heterogeneity, feeding/fasting strategy and stocking density modulation on body performance and cannibalism rate of Persian sturgeon (Acipenser persicus) larvae

Growth performance, survival or/and cannibalism rate of larvae are directly affected by feeding strategies, hatchery management, etc. (Mohler, King, & Farrell, 2000; Deng et al., 2003; Leu et al., 2018; Uriarte et al., 2019) and thus knowing these key factors for sturgeon larviculture helps farmers to provide an appropriate condition. There are, though, a few studies on how sturgeon larviculture can be influenced by feeding/fasting, size sorting and stocking density. It is the first time given cannibalism nature of Persian sturgeon larvae has been reported. The growth and survival rate drawn from this study have been proved by previous documents regarding fish feeding frequency. In this study, having the feeding/fasting strategy been considered initial factor on final weight of the larvae, it would be logical why in all starved treatments survival rate, in both hetero & homo-size conditions, is increased. Besides this, the starvation sterategy has resulted in adverse effect on final weight when stocking densities were raised by two-fold. It is therefore can reach around six-times in the homo-size small larvae (B6: 39.3 ± 11.3 mg) and four-times in homo-large (B4: 98.6 ± 30.4 mg) and hetero-small (B2: 80.3 ± 19.6 mg) treatments. The effect of feeding on final weight and mortality of sturgeon, previously, is well-defined in Siberian sturgeon (Gisbert & Williot, 1997) and white sturgeon (Deng et al., 2003). The persian sturgeon function therefore alter depending on overcrowding situation. This is to say, the more fish maintained starved in high density the higher mortality rate would be seen. Predicted that the reduction of growth performance in aquatic, during larvae phase in particular, it would cause by competition either for feeding or for space (Bolasina et al., 2006; Lee et al., 2016; Yadata et al., 2019). Larvae maintained at high stocking density require more food availability to have an optimal final weight. Although stocking density clearly influences Amur sturgeon (Ni, Wen, Li, Chi, Bu, Ren, Zhang, Song, & Ding, 2014), Atlantic sturgeon Acipenser oxyrinchus (Mohler et al., 2000) and Chinese sturgeon Acipenser sinensis (Ni, Wen, Li, Chi, Bu, Ren, Zhang, Song, & Ding, 2016) by provoking growth performance, the nature of species can opt how body performance react in different stocking density (Millán-Cubillo, Martos-Sitcha, Ruiz-Jarabo, Cárdenas, & Mancera, 2016)..