Some businesses find that new employees finishing their education lack basic interpersonal ability such as working with others as a part of a team. What do you think are the causes of this problem? How to solve this problem?

Some employers find newly graduated employees do not have good social capability, such as teamwork. This essay believes the main drivers of this are the high amount of remote learning and technology dependency and suggests more group assignments in education and more teamwork training in a professional environment. The main problems with the lack of basic social ability are the intensive amount of remote learning and over-reliance on technology. Due to the pandemic, many schools and universities implement remote learning, as a result, many students are only learning by themselves and do not practice their interpersonal ability. Moreover, with the widespread use of technology and social media, many people only communicate through the internet and lost their genuine, real-life interactions. For example, many recent graduates in Indonesia prefer working remote jobs over conventional jobs not only due to the flexibility, but also the lack of conventional working environment remote jobs have. Solutions to these problems are more group tasks in education and teamwork workshops in businesses. In order to tackle the sense of individuality in remote learning, teachers could give more group-based assignments to their students, therefore, students have no other options besides working with their friends. Furthermore, businesses could also organize teamwork and social capacity training for their employees, so they can learn interpersonal skills in professional settings. For instance, many businesses organize team-building workshops to teach their employees to strengthen their bonds and teach them the meaning of teamwork. To conclude, the main causes of the lack of basic interpersonal skills in new employees are the high amount of remote learning and technology dependency. These can be solved through more group assignments and team-building training.