1. Very year an increasing number of people suffer from fast food related diseases. The government, therefore, should impose a high tax on fast food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While there are enormous advantages of levying higher taxes on junk food to limit its reachability and to curb the growing number of health problems its causing in people, there are significant discernible drawbacks of penalising an industry instead of regulating the norms and quality checks. We strongly disagree with the above-mentioned statement and explicated below are my perspective on the topic. Striking benefits that accrue are the imposition of taxes will prevent the access of a significant percentage of the population to junk food which will directly benefit the health of the masses. It will decrease the market demand for processed eatables and will promote healthy eating in public. To illustrate this the majority of consumption of processed foods is in school and academic institutions. Which is affecting the health of teenagers. On the contrary, notable and perceptible disadvantages are to penalise and limiting the financial growth of the domain and the people working in that industry can be a challenge for the governments to tackle. However, the introduction of regulations to induce healthy practices will beneficial for both the industry and the consumers. Notwithstanding the fact that the above drawbacks can be transformed into benefits and as a corollary there are alternate ways to tackle the situation instead of targetting a sector. In conclusion, having elucidated the major benefits and drawbacks of imposing higher taxes on fast food companies to curb health-related problems and having presented anecdotal evidence supporting my assertions. It is also recommended that better governance in terms of rules and regulations for the sector.