Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The best mode of transport is debatable. Few people say that governments should have more budget for the rail network as compared to highways. Even I am of the opinion that the nation should focus more on the usage of trains rather than motor vehicles. There are four important reasons to substantiate my agreement with the given statement. Firstly, the trains cause the least amount of air pollution because they run on electricity. To be precise, there is no combustion of fossil fuels to produce any toxic gases. Secondly, they also help in the transport of hundreds of citizens in one go. For example, the through trains in India help more than 500 people to travel from point A to B. Moreover, travelling by railways results in a decreased time span as compared to roadways. To be clear, the journey from Mumbai to Delhi by car would take nearly 24 hours, however, the same train journey will be completed in 11 hours. In addition, the cost of commuting by trains is far too less as against the expenses incurred in a road trip. For instance, a return ticket for a train from Mumbai to Delhi will cost 2400 rupees while 5 times more money will be required for the same trip by road. In conclusion, after having a glance at the above explanation, I strongly believe that the railway is an excellent medium of transport and has several advantages over most other modes. It is recommended to consider travelling by trains to conserve nature, decrease global warming, boost the economy and save fossil fuels for other work.