Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The intention of getting acquainted with an alien dialect is under debate. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that the purpose behind learning a foreign language is for a job or to travel to while some critics oppose it as they feel there are other causes. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that the motive behind learning a novel language is to be eligible to get some work and for the ease of travelling. On the one hand, others are of the opinion that people learn a foreign dialect for two main reasons. To begin, the individuals who want to study the culture of that country, need to be at par with their language. To be precise, once they are accustomed to the language, they can study everything in great detail. Moreover, to study a particular subject in such a country, one needs to be perfect in their language. For example, my colleague who went to Germany learnt their language before proceeding with his course. On the other hand, others and I are of the opinion that the public learns a new alien language for three important causes. Firstly, it is for them to move around properly because they can then roam around independently. To illustrate, the folks who went to the Middle East are better off when they know their language. Secondly, to get a job and excel in foreign settings, one has to know the language completely. To elaborate, having complete knowledge of the dialect helps the community to reach new heights. Lastly, it has also given an opportunity to the individual in his/her native country to host folks from that country. In conclusion, I truly believe that the real intention to learn a foreign language is regarding work and tour as it helps one in many different ways. It is recommended to learn a foreign language as it an additional feather in one ’s cap.