Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the learning materials which should be taught in school, some believe that History is one of the most substantial lessons, while others think that more modern subjects like Science and Technology are more important to learn in comparison with the history. In the following, I am going to discuss both viewpoints and present my own opinion. To begin with, beyond the shadow of a doubt, learning the history is vital for pupils in that not only does it make them get familiar with their own culture, history, and ancestors, but also students can learn numerous advices from famous historical characters. For instance, Alexander the great was one of the famous and successful kings of the ancient greek kingdom who could overcome the Persian king and conquer Perspolis by his wisdom and policy as far as I know; however, one night after the conquest he ordered to burn the Perspolis when he was drunk. The day after he rapidly regretted his order, but there was no way back that time. Therefore, this historic event can teach pupils to decide only when they are awake and alert now that one wrong decision can spoil a great reputation. On the other hand, we are doomed to learn about the technology as we are living in a world in where everything is being updated at a stunning pace. For example, it is so plausible for people to live in a cyber society in the future in that everyone has to meet his/her needs just through technology if you conceive the number of human achievements regarding the advancement of the technology in the past decades. Thereafter, learning about the science is vital and inevitable for everyone. Personally, I reckon that both of the aforementioned notions are correct now that students are supposed to learn about the history to get familiar with different traditions, thoughts, achievements, and mistakes in order to spread their perspectives and learn about the science to be able to keep up with the nowadays modern world, otherwise a number of problems they will encounter if they do not learn about the technology during school. To sum up, concerning the importance of History and Science for children to be learned, and the superiority of one of the abovementioned learning materials over each other, I think that both of them are equally substantial because a person must have knowledge about his/her past and future as I elucidated my reasons for this notion in the above paragraphs.