Space exploration costs tax payers an exhorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Space exploration has developed a lot in recent years, which generates a high cost. Society, through,taxes paid, finances these costs. Spending on space exploration would certainly aid in understanding our planet and economic growth, but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit to spending on space exploration is that it might lead to solutions to some of our planet’s problems. In other words, if researchers had more knowledge of how space works, there would be easier to deal with problems caused by global warming. Another reason that space discoveries would be advantageous is that they would probably help future generations. This is because many scientists believe that the long-term survival of humanity depends on people being able to move off planet Earth. Moreover, space studies create countless jobs. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to investing in space exploration. Firstly, the taxpayers’ money would be better spent on health, education, and security. To illustrate, the government should prioritize the constructions of new hospitals and schools, the employment of more doctors, teachers and police officer, and investments in technologies which can improve these essential areas. Furthermore, many social problems could be solved with only a fraction of the money used on space exploration. Secondly, some countries view space research mainly as a way to impose military dominance. For instance, it can be a source of conflict if countries use satellites to spy on each other. To conclude, while there are plus points to spending on space exploration, too much would be lost as a result. Investing in vital areas such as health and education should be a must to ensure the well-being of individuals.