Some people believe that people have the right to university education and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that students have the right to higher education and the nation should provide it for free of cost irrespective of their economical status. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that it should not be considered as a privilege and there should not be a compulsion on the part of the state to make it available without any cost. There are four important reasons to substantiate my disagreement with the given statement. Firstly, there is a huge financial burden on the country to run a university because of the vast number of people employed. To be precise, the government bears a considerable cost of the technical and higher education of its masses. Secondly, it is inappropriate to give such a level of education freely to individuals from affluent society. For example, my cousin who is studying engineering is rich enough to pay his own college fees and do not need any support from the government. Moreover, there is no appreciation for free education. To illustrate, Jawaharlal Nehru University provides certain courses for free but the behaviour of their students is not only inappropriate but also anti-national. In addition, there are many pupils who are unable to cope up with higher studies and leave the course mid-way resulting in country’s loss. To elaborate, these individuals who are not willing for further studies should not be deliberately forced to study. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I truly feel that university education should be for students who are worth it and financial assistance should be provided to the needy.