News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

News from either the television or in newspapers is part of our daily life. Some individuals argued that photographs used in delivering info are much more advantageous than words. I am of the opinion that giving news through written and verbal forms is still better than any form of delivering news as this could properly describe a news report in details. It is true to say that photos used by media in giving daily news are helpful in some ways. This could allow people to understand more what the story is all about. For instance, a photographic description aired on television is easily understood by some people by merely looking at those pictures even without words especially those individuals who could not automatically grasp the information if being presented in a different language. Moreover, photographic evidence is valuable in giving report most particularly in cases of vehicular accidents. However, a story article even without photos is regarded as more effective. Firstly, not all pictures could mean exactly the same as we see it, as there are many reasons behind every photograph. Our sophisticated technology can alter images through photoshops. As a result, the authenticity of the report can be questionable. Secondly, most story reports are needed to be explained fully in details with the use of words in order to fully understand the situation. To exemplify, a murder case needs to have depth information on why such a case happened, although pictures can be a shred of supporting evidence, a written report or an interview coming directly from a witness could help to solve the case. In conclusion, both forms of providing news to the public can be useful. Nonetheless, I believe that the traditional way of information dissemination is by using words.