The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Language is a key to communication. Nowadays, due to the development in tourism, English is considered the most famous language and some section of society believe that if that continues only English will be the spoken language worldwide. I personally consider this to have both negative and positive effects on society which will be outlined in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are a number of advantages of having one language. Firstly, fewer communication barriers are the prominent aspect to be taken into account. In simple terms, people travelling worldwide face difficulties to communicate with the local people of a specific tourist place. Not only does this fill the communication gap, but also individuals can seek a variety of information as well as different ideas from other tourists or local citizens. Also, it would help businesses to expand globally if there will a single language speakers. For Example, in the ancient period, French businessmen used to face a lot of challenges to start their business in India, because there were a number of languages spoken other than French. However, despite having a number of merits, it could bring some demerits as well. To add, if there were a dominance of a single language, especially English, there are more possibilities that individuals could feel like losing their individuality which makes them unique. Besides, each language has its own uniqueness, dialects and cultural diversity. Adapting new language would gradually finish the existence of another language by making citizens speak, learn and write in different languages via schools and colleges. For Example, In Haryana, a state in India, Because of the influence of English, youngsters like to talk in English, even though their mother tongue is Haryanvi and it is diminishing their cultural heritage. In a nutshell, indeed there are facts that as a result of one language, there will be fewer communication barriers, not only does these help tourists but also would be beneficial to trade. Conversely, there could be a chance of losing unique expressions of speech and dialects.