Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A country has to provide its population with different food cereal and crops. It is highly unlikely that a nation will be self-sufficient in producing all edible products simultaneously. A number of people claim that governments should supply the foods cultivated within their border, and they should purchase a minimum amount of foodstuff from outside the country. I think that the idea of consuming foods within a county is entirely preposterous, and the nations should exchange foods with each other for the betterment of people. Buying food ingredients from other states can be harmful to the own food and agricultural industry. Import dependency on foodstuff may habituate people to consume fewer domestic agricultural goods, which is why local farmers will gain fewer profits, and their product may remain unsold. For example, in Bangladesh, a significant consumer of onion often imports a large amount of onion from India. Consequently, the price of onion drops sharply and causes substantial financial damage to the farmers of Bangladesh. Thus, Importing grains and crops from other regions can be detrimental to the economy and agricultural sector of a county. Despite few drawbacks of purchasing food products from abroad, importing food is highly beneficial for these regions that are not self-sufficient in producing cereal and vegetables. a state may feed their population by buying it in time of drought and famine. Moreover, a few food ingredients which can be bought from other regions may not be available to a particular country. For instance, even though Bangladesh is one of the biggest importer and consumer of soybean oil, this country is not a major producer of soya. As a result, it will be difficult for the government to let the public consume soybean oil without purchasing it from abroad. Import-export of foodstuffs, therefore, is inevitable for the survival of humanity. In conclusion, there are many arguments regarding the importing of foods or only consuming domestic foods. I disagree entirely with the view, and I believe that purchasing grains and crops from other countries is absolutely necessary for the survival of humankind.