With the rise of e-books comes the decline to paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Currently,there is an increase of e- books which has resulted in the fall of paper books. Although some view this as a positive trend, others believe that it is detrimental. E- books are convenient and environmental friendly, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. To commence with, one major benefit of e- books is their convenience. In other words, they are readily available that one can access them at the touch of a button. For example, people can now read books on their cell phones or computers in the comfort of their home without visiting the library. As a result, individuals can save transport money and energy as it will be unnecessary to travel to the bookshop. Another advantage of reading books from the internet is that it is environmental friendly. This is because no papers are needed for the book since it will be uploaded on the internet. Nevertheless, there are some negative aspects associated with the decline of the paper books in favour of e- books. Firstly, any person can upload information on the internet, therefore, some of the sources will be unrealiable. For instance, when one is doing a research, especially students, they can find information that is not authentic and this can jeopardize their work. Secondly, having fewer paper books can cause people to lose their jobs due to the libraries and bookshops being closed. Thus, it can be an issue to a number of people and their families who will be affected. In conclusion, while e- books can be beneficial to people and society as a whole, they can also result in unemployment and plagarism.