These days in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

In recent years, the number of individuals choosing to teach as a career option is dwindling, and specifically for teaching at secondary schools in most of the countries. This essay will discuss the major reasons for this development which includes longer working hours and unacceptable behavior of students. Also, it will suggest solutions to these problems that are reducing time spent on the job as well as regulating student's demeanor towards teachers. One of the foremost problem which dissuades people from opting for teaching is that they are expected to spend more time working in comparison to any other nine-to-five jobs. Most of the time, professors are expected to work for 10-12 hours a day, though payment for working overtime is not provided; this prevents them from spending time with family. As a matter of fact, in an interview conducted by BBC media, a secondary school educator stated that she seldom gets time to spend with her family, as by the time she arrives home from work her children and spouse would go to sleep. Another reason is that most of the pupils behave insolently with their teachers while mocking the latter's teaching style and causing nuisance in the class. This problem could be solved by setting flexible working hours. In other words, the amount of time expend by the faculty members should be minimized, for it will ensure retaining experienced as well as prospective teachers. Furthermore, it will spare them sufficient time to carry out various activities apart from work. Another way to tackle this problem is by laying stricter rules to maintain the decorum of the school. For instance, if any pupil is witnessed treating their lecturer with derision, they should be penalized or subjected to dire consequences, such as suspension. In conclusion, even though a number of literates are not showing interest in jobs related to teaching especially to 11-17 aged children due to the elaborate office durations and the way students behave, this can be resolved by setting up feasible working time required and by setting regulations to manage inappropriate conduct of learners.