ith the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

As electronic books have become more and more common, the number of physical books has been decreasing. While it is considered by some that this is a good trend, there are others who disagree. There are some plus points as well as negatives, which I will discuss in this essay. One of the benefits of fewer paper books is that it reduces the damage the production of paper causes to the environment. On a daily basis, a significant number of trees are being cut down as we need various kinds of paper in everyday life such as milk cartons and notebooks. However, the rate of deforestation has been slowing down since we started using digitalised books, which has had a positive impact on the environment. Another advantage is that e- books help people around the world to gain more information and knowledge. Because of the development of e- books, people have easier access to books from all over the world. This is a positive trend as it contributes to the progress of society as a whole. On the other hand, the decline in paper books has some disadvantages as well. One is that it places a financial strain on publishing companies. For a long time, physical books have been a major source of income for those businesses, but they are seeing a decline in popularity, causing them to be faced with financial problems. For instance, some of the major publishers in Japan such as Kadokawa and Shincho are searching for other sources of revenue for this reason. In addition, e- books have drawbacks in terms of security. Although e- books are convenient since it is easy to purchase them, it also means that they can easily be stolen by hackers or be distributed illegally. These problems would not arise for paper books. In conclusion, the replacement of physical books by e- books is mainly beneficial for the environment, whereas it has the disadvantage of being vulnerable to cybercrimes. It is important to be aware of the risks of digitalisation.