Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

Although some may think that it is a valuable experience for children to do paid work, other people consider that it can be causing harm to them. Children can learn about earning money and become independent by doing a paid job, but certain drawbacks have to be considered. Firstly, one benefit of children doing paid work is they understand the value of money. They learn that they should not waste money and work is needed to earn money. Secondly, they learn to manage and save money. For instance, many older children have a part-time job to save money and buy something they want. Otherwise, be unable to afford by them. Thirdly, working teaches them responsibility and independence. These skills help them when they grow as self-supporting adults to enter society and the workforce. On the other hand, one problem when children have a job is that it exposes them to exploitation through slave labour. For example, In some developing countries, children are made to work in a full-time job, but they are not protected by law due to their age. As a result, they are paid negligible wages. Another possible issue can be children working for long hours can prevent from focusing on their school work. Having a good education is a key to a successful future. So being employed as a child may result in poor academic performance and getting low grades at school. In conclusion, children can benefit from paid work experience, but it can lead to exploitation and is harmful in the long run.