In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

As long as the customers going the large shopping malls instead of the small local shops, I believe it is a negative development for the local. It can cause two different problems: decreasing job amount and inconvenience to people who do not have a vehicle. Firstly, lots of small local shops will be closed when people start shopping in large shopping malls, then the only choice that the shop owners will have is to dismiss their employees since they can not afford their salaries. It can be tough for unemployed people to find a new job in a short period of time since the market usually does not have that many job positions. Eventually, an increase in the unemployment rate will happen, and it will damage the local economies. On the other aspect, the people who do not have a vehicle will fall into an inconvenient situation when there are no small local shops near their lives. Because they do not have to place to shop around the place they lived. They will have to take a bus or other transportation to go to the large shopping mall, then they can buy stuff, and it will lead us to really jammed traffic when those people are going out shopping. Finally, it will cost the government a lot of money to expand traffic facilities and slow down the local development. In conclusion, I believe it will be a negative development if small local shops get closed because people go to the large shopping centres to do their shopping.