Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education has become a valuable entity for the development of the children not only for shaping their future but also for understanding moral and social responsibilities as well as attaining a sense of communication and brotherhood. It is argued that, co-education schools for boys and girls have advantages over the separate institute. As the overall growth of children can be observed from mixed learning, I strongly support mixed training. However, I will discuss both views in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, first and foremost, an important gain from co-education is the development of harmony between male and female through companionships. The children have to complete many projects including science and social, where they need a partner, and in a mixed school, they bound to get a partner of the opposite sex, therefore, eventually everyone learns how to work as a team without being gender-biased. The recent article in The Times of India on 8th March, on the occasion of women’s day stated that 68% of men who supports their women colleague were studied from co-education schools. Moreover, the crime rate against women has become lower as both sexes understand each other by growing and learning together. The studies conducted by Cambridge University in 2019 reported that 70% of men arrested under rape and sexual harassment charges when traced for their educational status, reflected that they belonged to separate school. Hence co-teaching has immense benefits for society. On the contrary, while learning together many girls faced humiliation and insults by their boys’ colleagues. Especially in developing and traditional culture-oriented countries like Pakistan, Saudi Arabia it is extremely hazardous for females to sit and learn with males, on top of that is absolutely not acceptable in their culture and mythology. So, in these,situations it can become harmful for girls to get educated in the mixed academy. For instance, there was a documentary on television, based on the real situation in the Taliban which was an eye-opener for the rest of the world. With due respect to the ancient cultures, in this modern,era one must think in terms of safety, women empowerment as well as community enrichment. To attain this, co-education becomes a vital part of the learning system. To exemplify, the 1st woman Prime Minister of Pakistan Mrs Benazir Bhutto set an ideal example for the developing countries by her successful work in the field of upliftment of the nation. To conclude, as the advantages of mixed education are clearly greater than the separate institution in order attain total upliftment of both sexes, I strongly support that education must be done in co-education system of university.