Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether the government should shoulder the duty of protecting the environment or each person is responsible. This conundrum has been there for long time. However, from my standpoint, it will be more beneficial if both the country’s authorities and individuals bear the responsibility. On the one hand, public agencies may apply a pivotal role in maintaining the legal framework for the environmental protection. The legislation must be in place to regulate any sectors including surrounding, otherwise, people will have nothing to obey. Many people would be happy to follow rules and regulations that imposed by the government thereby taking care of their surroundings. As an example, carbon emission done by motor vehicles can only be prevented if law is there, if not, no ways that citizen would stop it. On the other hand, it is the obligation of people to obey the rules imposed by the administration for the sake of the environment. The state alone cannot conserve it but a collective effort of the community can do so. For instance, if members of the community simply sort out their garbage when disposing them, as per the local authorities’ regulations, much of the damage done can be reduced. To conclude, shared responsibility of conserving the nature and its elements is vital. The government and individuals in the society should take care of the environment, but should not compromise their responsibility.