Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, social media is the biggest platform for communication. As it is becoming increasingly trending to share private data amongst every generation, whereas there are some consequences of sharing privacy on social media. This essay will discuss why the disadvantages of disclosing personal data do in fact outweigh the advantages. The primary reason why social media put someone’s life at risk is by sharing confidential information, individuals can leak their privacy. For instance, in Facebook, Instagram or other application people put their secret information which leads to growth in cybercrime. Moreover, hackers use their identity for their own benefit. Stalkers can stalk them, and this will put individuals life in danger. The negative effect on mental health is another reason why social media is a danger. Individual follow social media trends and post their videos and pictures. Scammers photoshop their photos and create their profiles, misuse their pictures. Due to this reason, many people attempt suicide which is the major concern. On the other hand, there are some pros of social media. Folks can share their own thoughts and make new friends. They can communicate with someone if they are feeling depressed. In addition to this, they can make money from applications. For example, if they post some useful knowledge and they get more likes and views. This can help them make more amount of money. It can be used as a source of entertainment. To conclude, there are more disadvantages of revealing own information. However, there are some advantages. It depends on person to person how they can use social media and how they can take benefits.