The best way to solve the world's enviromental prolem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental issues like pollution is the scourge of today's modern world. Some are of the opinion that increasing fuel costs is an effective way to curb pollution. I completely disagree with this statement as adopting this measure is not an efficient approach. The essay will further explain the reason for my viewpoint. Firstly, fuel price hike is not a sustainable solution to curb the issues affecting the environment. Individuals will still depend on using fossil fuel driven vehicles as there are no affordable alternate renewable fuels available in market. Consequently, increasing the gasoline costs doesn't deter people from buying vehicles that contribute to the increasing carbon pollution in the world. For example, in India the fuel prices are skyrocketting however, people are purchasing more cars. The year 2020 saw the biggest buyer surge in Indian automobile industry. So, marking up fuel prices is not helpful in reduction of pollution. Also, although carbon emission from vehicle is a major contributor to the global environmental problems, it is not the only one. There are other factors that causes harm to the environment such as industrial pollutions, plastic waste, deforestation etc. Moreover, if the government is concentrating only on increasing the fuel costs and turning a blind eye to other causes, it might not dwindle environmental issues. So, instead of reducing fuel prices, governing bodies around the world should spend funds to make alternate green energy options affordable. For instance, instead of bringing down fuel price government should subsidise electric vehicles. This can aid in overall global pollution reduction. So to conclude, many people think that decreasing fuel price can help to solve environmental problems.In my opinion, it is not sustainable solution as individuals will still use motorized vehicles that causes pollution.Governments should take incentivise alternate renewable energy usage.