Computer games and films containing violence are popular today. Some people think that these are harmful for our society and the government should ban them. Others argue that such games and films are fine for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While many are of the belief that new entertainment tools such as electronic games and films are promoting ruthlessness among individuals, others assume that these are simply a part of the wide variety of entertainment tools that people can rejoice in. Both sides of the argument have compelling reason for their point of view which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own take on the matter. On the one hand, there are those justifying that the right to freedom of choice is of paramount importance which should be respected by society. That is to argue that authorities in a society are not entitled to choose how people should be enjoying their spare time. Further, this could give the government improper right to interfere in other aspects of citizen’s privacy. Additionally, being exposed to hypothetically dangerous situations can enhance the audience’s critical thinking leading to more prepared reactions in confronting threats. On the other hand, the opposing view asserts that being exposed to constant unmerciful actions might trigger real violence in the streets. Games and movies containing unruly behaviour aimed at youngsters have increased immensely. This damaging trend could turn these underage viewers into offenders since they can differentiate distinctly between reality and fiction, so they might choose to try what they have watched in real life. In addition, having constant contact with violent entertainment will impact people stress level. Watching scenes full of bullying and aggressive behaviour not only will make people anxious but also leads to even severe diseases such as high blood pressure or even heart strokes. To sum up, there are valid arguments on both sides of this contentious topic, however it is my firm conviction that the drawbacks of viewing violent movies and games outweigh its merits on the grounds that they have negative effects on our physical or emotional conditions which can be long lasting.