Some people tell that to reduce traffic and pollution, government should increase the tax on the petrol (gasoline). Would there is more benefits than the drawback?

Technology has revolutionized our lifestyles and brought us modern vehicles, however, fuel-driven engines are producing noxious gas to the environment. Some people believe that government should raise the excise on gasoline in order to resolve the problem that is caused by traffic and pollution. I personally believe that there are more advantages than disadvantage. One of the greatest advantages of increasing the gas tax is to reduce the overall amount of drivers. A considerable expenditure can effectively affect some individuals before they decide to drive. Most potential car owners nowadays can afford the price of purchasing a car, but the maintenance fee including the fueling budget is one of the biggest concerns before they decide to make the deal. By increasing the tax, it can effectively control the number of future vehicle buyers. Another benefit is that higher tax produces more revenue, and the government can, therefore, be able to invest in the research of environmentally friendly resource. In fact, nowadays the electrical engine-driven vehicles are getting popular, however, the recharging facilities are not as developed as the gas stations. The government can build more recharging sites and reduce pollution to a great extent. However, there is a major side effect of raising the tax that is the heavier burden of public transport. Some people might consider taking the metro or buses instead of driving once the tax is increased which can lead to the number of passengers skyrockets and puts a toll on the existing public transportation system. Metro in Shanghai is a typical example, in which there are more than 50 million people getting on and off every day. The government must be well prepared for such a tremendous number. In conclusion, raising the tax on gasoline can effectively reduce the number of car owners as the increased fueling fee, and build up more facilities to support the e-vehicles to diminish pollution. However, an exploding population on public transport can be one of the severe consequences.