The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in the towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

As technology has advanced and the internet has grown to become a part of our everyday lives, online shopping is the latest popular trend. Some believe that local markets and shops will eventually shut down due to increased internet shopping. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement, and the following essay will explain various reasons for my standpoint. The primary reason why local shops will not close is poverty. In other words, in many countries, people still cannot afford to purchase a mobile phone or internet service, and they still rely on the nearby market to buy their daily necessities. For them, online shopping is either unknown or luxurious system of life. During the pandemic, for instance, in India, the government keep some shops open for a limited time for citizens because they were aware that not all of them could order online. Clearly, if shops in cities and towns will shut down, it will adversely impact poor people's lives. The secondary reason is that visiting a supermarket is an extremely positive experience in practical life for many people. Walking through the aisles allows one to choose from a vast array of different products and decide exactly what goes into the shopping basket. For example, think about the variety of different vegetables available at a supermarket. It is enjoyable selecting the best avocado from the pile. On the contrary, in online shopping, no one gets a chance to check the quality, and there are high chances of delivery of the inferior quality product. As a result, shops and markets are still preferred by many citizens. In conclusion, despite the rise in popularity of online shopping, I strongly feel that local shops are a basic need of poor people and many others still depend on them for quality. Therefore, those are never going to close.