Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Music has become a vital part of every culture and community around the world. It has influenced how we live, dress and believes. Although, I concur that music has influenced our lives and societies positively, there have been concerns that if music is doing more harm than good which this essay discusses. To begin with, people of every age listen to songs of different genres and languages. Listening to songs has become a source of entertainment for many and it brings along a lot of advantages. Firstly, instrumental media is being used in meditation and yoga to create a calm and soothing environment for the participants. For example, putting a tone of instrumental piano in a meditation class can help someone get better at focussing. Secondly, the lyrics in songs are being used to convey meaningful messages and important content to the masses. Finally, some individuals who have trouble going to sleep use white noise to create an atmosphere of sound frequency which stimulates their brain to release relaxing chemicals. As a, result their thoughts slow down which in turn helps them to sleep. On the contrary, it has been believed that what people listen can have a damaging effect on the communities we live in. Some of the songs are explicit in nature and their verses include offensive language. These kinds of tunes can arouse violent thoughts in the listener's mind. Additionally, playing explicit songs in public places can be a bad influence on children. To conclude, music has the power to affect our localities and beliefs. Although, there are some cons, music has certainly enriched people's life with positivity and had brought communities together.