*Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. *Why might this be the case? *What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this contemporary epoch, self-employment culture has become widespread. There are multiple causes for this phenomenon. In this essay, I will talk about the causes and the potential challenges that face individuals who are self-employed. To embark on, one of the major advantages of being self-employed is the flexibility of work. In other words, if any person chose to work as an independent worker, they would be able to choose the schedule and the place of their work. A prime example of this is a survey conducted by Time News Magazine which revealed that the majority of employee preferred to leave their stable corporate jobs for the freedom of self-employment. Hence, recent job hunters would prefer to work for oneself for the freedom and flexibility of their work. Furthermore, there are major challenges in working as a consultant, and the most difficult challenge is the lack of stability and reliability of their jobs. This means that, if these individuals relied only on their consulting job, they might not have enough job requests to cover their yearly expenses. For example, as per an article published by the BBC, a number of self-employed individuals suffer from inconsistent earnings due to their job instability. Therefore, being a consultant is not a very reliable job for some individuals. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that despite the freedom of being a self-employed individual, the lack of job reliability makes it a major risk for some individuals. I believe that being self-employed is a great choice for people who are not able to work with a work schedule that has a fixed timetable.