The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, overcrowded traffic in urban areas is a widely concerning issue. While some people are convinced that cutting down the need to travel for work, education, and shopping is the sole way to alleviate the problem, I am strongly opposed to this argument, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. Even if there is no need to travel for the given intentions, people will still rely heavily on personal vehicles or mass transportation, which causes cities to be crowded. This is simply because individuals in society put great emphasis on entertainment, they travel to various tourist attractions in cities to experience different cultures or purely make friends with diverse backgrounds to broaden their horizons rather than shopping for local handicrafts. For instance, I like to visit Taipei 101 on weekends, as different music bands are invited to perform at the main entrance every day, which offers me good opportunities to appreciate their artwork freely. Therefore, if the time I have to allocate to travel for work, education, or shopping becomes less, I will transform it into free entertainment purposes, which means that the amount of traffic will be unchanged. Another factor is that traffic problems due to celebrations for special events are ignored. We can easily imagine a scenario in which citizens gather together around a well-known landscape in cities, like Taipei 101 or the London Eye, to cheer for the upcoming New Year on the night of December 31. This traditional custom worldwide poses a serious threat to traffic jams despite the decreasing need for work, education, or shopping. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I totally disagree with the idea of the given policy, because daily entertainment and celebrating holidays both play a crucial role in travel demand.