In many countries, traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think this is? What can parents and schools do to keep traditional customs alive?

For many people in the world their culture is what defines them and their society. It influences what they believe in as well as their lifestyle. Although, older generation follow their culture as much as they can, some people of the family are slowly loosing touch with their traditional customs. This can be beacuse of several reasons which this essay discusses. To begin with, customs are certain activities that have long been practiced by a family. These customs take part in several stages of our life including on our birth, marriage and death. However, our world has become fact-paced and more competitive than ever. As a result, it has become increasingly difficult to take out time to indulge in ethnic traditions. For example, in my religion there is a custom to pray to the sun every morning but sometimes I don't have time for it as my morning commute to work takes me 2 hours. Additionally, schools are becoming more focused to teach skills which are more inclined towards technical knowledge and are spending less resources on providing means to learn about the old practices. This has led to a lost of ethnic values and customs but there are some remedies that can fix this. The key to address the issue of losing our traditional culture is through our parents and schools. Firstly, schools should introduce classes and material that focus on the importance of balance of work-life and conventional practices. This will not only improve their quality of life in future but also help young children to know their roots and get familiar with some of the conventional activities. Finally, parents should get their kids involved in their religious practices as much as they can so that they can establish a connection between the kids and the long-established tradition. To conclude, with the help of schools and parents the lost values of our long-established tradition can be recovered. Having a way for the people to connect to their old customs can enable them to understand and practice those values and activities again.