Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, different kinds of artificial intelligence or robots are assisting us to do our work whether at an office or at home. In my opinion, while there are both positives and negatives associated with the use of automation or AI, overdependence on machines and robots is not a healthy sign for our society as a whole. In today's busy work and personal lives, machines have helped in reducing the burden or sharing the load that was required in doing office job or home chores. For instance, with the advent of electronic equipment like washing machines, dishwashers, vacuum cleaners the amount of time and energy required to perform daily household activities has reduced drastically. This gives more leisure time to spend with children and other fun activities or even hobbies which we are passionate about. Moreover, even at workplaces, with the increase in usage of artificial intelligence or robotics automation, the time required for doing monotonous work has reduced. For example, there are several tasks that are repetitive in nature and are prone to mistakes. So, with less manual intervention such tasks can be done more accurately and efficiently. However, extensive use of machines can result in over-dependence and result in an unhealthy or lazy lifestyle. To illustrate, people used to be healthy and fit by doing various house chores like washing clothes, cleaning and even washing dishes but with the total dependence on gadgets, they don't get enough physical exercise which is required to maintain a healthy body. In addition, due to robotics and excessive importance given to automation, many people who were responsible for doing mundane tasks are losing their jobs. For instance, in large banks, most of the back end operations task is being done by robots nowadays, which is resulting in job losses and a rise in unemployment. In conclusion, although there are many advantages of using machines as a companion or assistants, yet, over-reliance on these gadgets can result in a drop in fitness levels and obesity can emerge as a big challenge for society.