Many people believe that schools should teach to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is common to hear that students should be better prepared to become multitasking professionals and community-oriented citizens, rather than independent people. I altogether disagree with this statement since, in my view, independence represents an essential factor to achieve the other topics indeed. Education has been constantly changing and so has been its educational practices in order to fulfil our daily changing society. Given the transformations seen in the 21st Century, characterized by the Era of technology and environmental destruction, some may argue that it is the school's role to turn students into better citizens and professionals, instead of independent individuals. These people state that the new generations must learn the sense of community, social and environmental responsibility, as well to become overqualified professionals to deal with the forehead challenges. However, neglecting to teach them how to be independent may have collateral effects, and prevent them to achieve other goals. Independence is pivotal for any human being. Only an independent person can become a committed citizen, claim for their rights, and fight against all the plethora types of injustices. The same can be applied to their professional performance since a worker who cannot take a necessary step on their own will be destined to simply receive orders or await someone to tell them so. To conclude, social values and professionalism are vital requirements in the present moment, and certainly have to be taught in schools. However, teaching them how to be independent has the same level of importance and definitely should not be forgotten.