Many elderly people are no long er looked after by their families but are put in care home or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Nowadays, a growing number of elderly people are put in various facilities, such as care homes or nursing homes, rather than looked after by their close relatives. There are several benefits to this trend, such as an improved medical care, whilst there are few drawbacks as well, namely a higher proportion of lonliness and depression. Care homes or nursing homes can provide the elderly population with an excellent medical treatment. The overall percentage of diseases and medical conditions is significantly higher among the old population. In the above mentioned facilities, proffesional health care givers, such as doctors and nurses, are always available for every medical situation that might occur. For example, my grandmother, who lives in a nursing home, had experienced a stroke last month, and her life was saved by the attending doctor. On the other hand, care homes can cause lonliness and depression among the elderly. An old person who has a supporting and functioning family is less likely to suffer from isolation, if he meets and interacts with his or her family members on a day to day basis. This is simply because close relatives are more likely to listen and help their old relative compare to an average employee at a care home. For instance, a study has shown that elderly persons who live at a nursing home, suffer from a greater percentage of depression in comparison to those who live with their families. In conclusion, whilst improved medical treatment is an advantage for elderly individuals who stay at care homes, one of the disadvantages is a higher proportion of depression, due to increased rates of lonliness.