Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, tourism industry has become one of the most thriving industries across the world. Although this industry has many economic benefits, its harmful impacts on culture and environment have been neglected. From my point of view, advantages of this industry outweigh its disadvantages. International tourism creates great benefits in many aspects. Initially it provides a great chance to individuals to visit different places and cultures. According to my observation, visiting another country is not only a harmless sector for culture but also a great way for people to share the different cultures with each other and enrich them. Despite of the fact that some inconsiderate foreigners tend to ruin environment just for having fun, governments should enforce some tough rules to prevent these individuals from doing disruptive behaviors. As a result, such problems can be easily tackled with government’s precautions. The second reason why I advocate this point of view is that I do believe that the tourism is in a direct relationship with environment and culture. If the environment or culture get ruined, tourism industry will no longer flourishing. A good illustration of this is Isfahan where is located in Iran has many historical buildings and mosques, however, because of lack of sufficient maintenance and rules this city cannot attract tourists anymore. As a result, tourism and environment are related together. To sum up, although there are some criticisms for tourism industry, I do believe that this sector has much more benefits than harms for culture and environment. Actually, this sector contributes significantly to keeping environment and culture safe and rich.