Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development.

In this contemporary world, the usage of cellular phones has become a fad among pupils. While it is irrefutable that these devices play a pivotal role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many schools have chosen to diminish their use on campus. I opine that it is a positive measure and can bring benefits not only academically but also physical and psychologically too. Impeding phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This is simply because, without these devices, there are fewer distractions for tutors and scholars. When a student has a smartphone in his lap, for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check constantly for texts, alerts or any other social media platform. Even the most observant teacher cannot prevent them from sneakily checking on this irrelevant material during the lesson. These endless distractions draw away attention from imperative educational matters and erode attention spans, which can have long-term effects on academic progress. Therefore, a blanket ban on digital phones during class frees learners from this compulsive checking and allows them to focus. In addition to it, limiting cell phones in educational institutions improves the well-being of the students both socially and physically. It is because of prolonged exposure to digital phone, an individual can tend to have insomnia, harmful effects on eyesight, mental conflict and many more. To exemplify, a student who is indulged in mobile phones for a prolonged period will encounter headaches, sudden mood swings, irritability and stress. These events will eventually have a deteriorating impact on his overall health and social life. Hence, it is beneficial to hinder mobile telephones in school premises, for a better psychological and social health of the disciples. To conclude, it can be said that beyond doubt cellphones, have become an integral part of a student's life for the sake of security and new learning. But I strongly feel that, on the other hand, their usage should be limited for better learning, and social, and psychological welfare of the learners.